Wool for summer, cool or cringe?…

Hey guys, Dash here!

I don’t know about you, but I’m off on my Summer holidays as of a week now now and we just had a gorgeous heat wave.
So, my attire had pretty much consisted of crop tops, jeans and shorts, in true keeping with the laid back beach Summer vibe.

But, all the while there was one big summer trend that I was hesitantly waiting for the right moment to give a go.

Wool and knitware for summer…

In all fairness it sounds like a pretty cute trend but I really wasn’t too sure how well it would actually go down.

Wool during a heat wave?…

Yeah, doesn’t sound like the best combo to me.

Wool and knitware has always been a big Autumn/Winter staple for me, with long, chunky knit cardies, mittens, leg-warmers and hats being my go-to’s. So, it’s obvious that I really love my wool.

The idea of the trend seemed nice enough, but I wasn’t entirely sure if this was one for me. Bringing some of my Wintertime stuff into Summer… I was dubious. Especially as I just love the contrasts between my Winter and Summer wardrobes. But me being me, I knew even if I wasn’t too sure, I knew I wanted to try it. Try everything at least once right?

So a while back, as I found myself (as I far too often do) wandering the aisles of Penneys, I came across this lovely little spaghetti strap crop top hanging on a rail.

Completely made from wool.

image

I thought it was so unique when compared with the type of knitwear that we’re so used to seeing.

Also, being such a gorgeous bright orange, mustard colour (great for splashing some extra colour into your wardrobe) I just had to have it and I’m loving it.

The key, I think with a trend like this is to just embrace it, even if it is a little different from what your used to, try new things. Find a piece that works for you and you’re comfortable with that incorporates the trend and just go for it.

For me it was this crop top. I love crop tops, they fill up half my wardrobe, if I’m completely honest. I’d seen a lot of other pieces that I just couldn’t see my self wearing at all, until I stumbled upon this one. Which is definitely going to be a must in my wardrobe now.

So, is this look cool or cringe?…

I’d say this one is pretty cool, once you find a way to make it work for you.

Talk soon,

Dash x

18 comments

  1. thegirlwithanaccent · June 16, 2016

    The top is super cute! I can’t imagine wool in Summer.. but I think it really works!

    Liked by 1 person

    • dashoffashiongirl · June 16, 2016

      True! It’s not for everyone, it works well in Ireland because it’s not too Warm all the time xx

      Liked by 1 person

      • thegirlwithanaccent · June 16, 2016

        Haha same for in the Netherlands! I couldn’t imagine it back home on Aruba, though. Haha

        Liked by 1 person

        • dashoffashiongirl · June 16, 2016

          Haha xox would probably be a tad too hot for it there :0 β˜€

          Liked by 1 person

          • thegirlwithanaccent · June 17, 2016

            Definitely.. haha! I’ve always wanted to go to Ireland, though. What’s it like?

            Liked by 1 person

            • dashoffashiongirl · June 17, 2016

              Really? :0 well, it rains, like A LOT. Haha πŸ˜‚ I’m not too sure, it’s sorta difficult to describe. Living in Ireland is pretty much like living in a tiny village at times because, even in a big enough city like Dublin (where I live) you’ll always bump into someone you know. Oh, we say thank you to our bus drivers, (Which apparently other countries find strange.) any event we can find we will somehow try and turn into a party. Oh, also there aren’t that many leprechauns, though our president may look,like one. And basically tea is essential to any and every part of your day. You should travel here on day, I’d say you’d like it, though it will definitely rain XD

              Liked by 1 person

            • thegirlwithanaccent · June 18, 2016

              Hahahh well, that kind of sounds like the Netherlands although here instead of tea they drink beer. xD And because of beer, they like to turn anything into a party, hahah.
              Hahah your president looks like a leprechaun?! That’s hilarious! hhaha
              I think I’d fit in there quite well.. tea and being polite are two of my favourite things. πŸ˜› I love rain, if I’m spending the day inside cozy in my bed.. I would really love to visit Ireland sometime.. I’ve heard it’s beautiful! I’ve been to Wales, England and Scotland. Now to Ireland!

              Liked by 1 person

            • dashoffashiongirl · June 18, 2016

              Haha πŸ˜‚ β™₯ β™₯ turning everything into a party? Sounds amazing πŸ‘Œ πŸ‘Œ πŸ‘Œ he honestly does, he’s so, so tinie tiny. I’d say you would, sure once you drink tea all the time you’re basically Irish anyway πŸ˜‰ in bed is definitely the best way to spend a rainy day, all curled up and cozy β™₯ Awh! Some places definitely can be, especially on the rare occasion when it’s not raining. Ohhhh, I’d love to travel to those counties, honestly if love to travel everywhere haha πŸ˜‚

              Liked by 1 person

            • thegirlwithanaccent · June 19, 2016

              Hahahah yes! Just add some beer and “het is feest!” (It’s a party!) hahha I’d love to consider myself Irish! I love both tea and coffee though haha.
              Omg it’s been raining so much here lately and since finals are over I can finally spend some cozy time in bed being lazy. ❀
              Definitely! This planet is so beautiful! There are so many hidden gems! (Especially when the sun is shining, yeah hahah)
              Omg I know! I'd love to travel the world! Wanderlust kicks in way too often…

              Liked by 1 person

            • dashoffashiongirl · June 19, 2016

              Haha πŸ˜‚ ohh I think I’ll use that phrase, I love learning things in different languages. Haha πŸ˜‚ most people would consider themselves Irish xD so you might as well too. Same here though it just bucketed rain all day it was so nice to stay inside, under my duvet all cozy β™₯ I could literally stay there forever! πŸ€ here’s a shamrock, now your Irish πŸ˜‰

              Liked by 1 person

            • thegirlwithanaccent · June 21, 2016

              Hahah me too! I love learning new things about different languages and cultures. Omg it’s been pouring here since last week! The only day we got a little sun was Sunday.. It’s crazy! I thought Summer is coming! πŸ˜›
              Ohh, that sounds so amazing. I spent all day yesterday on my couch reading a book. It was awesome.
              Haha thanks! πŸ˜€ I can’t wait to visit Ireland one day!

              Like

            • dashoffashiongirl · June 17, 2016

              One day*

              Like

  2. OrganicIsBeautiful · June 13, 2016

    I live in Malaysia. Wool would be simply impossible here!

    Sabrina πŸŒΊπŸƒπŸŒž
    http://www.OrganicIsBeautiful.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • dashoffashiongirl · June 14, 2016

      Ohh, that’s definitely true haha. At least you’ve got some gorgeous weather though β™₯ β˜€ πŸ‘Œ

      Liked by 1 person

  3. cornfedcontessa · June 11, 2016

    I guess it depends on where you live. Wool would be last choice in Summer, but if it works for you, what the heck.

    Liked by 1 person

    • dashoffashiongirl · June 11, 2016

      Well maybe, it doesn’t really, for me at least, here in Ireland we get every type of weather really randomly so I’d say to me, it more depends on the garment you choose to wear. I suppose trends like this are definitely a personal choice and really aren’t everyone’s cup of tea, I was very hesitant about this trend, Though at the the end of the day, wear what you love haha πŸ˜‚, thanks for commenting

      Liked by 1 person

  4. tartantights · June 10, 2016

    Hey Dash. To me this trend is as you say all about making it work for you.

    The thing about selecting a colour like orange is that it can work with almost anything. My preference would be denim shorts or classic black or navy skirts depending on our lovely Celtic climate.

    Best Wishes
    Gayle X

    Liked by 1 person

    • dashoffashiongirl · June 12, 2016

      Ohh exactly! Trends are all about making it work for you. Haha, lovely is one word for it…

      Like

Leave a Reply

