The Boho look (Part three) -Hairstyles

Hey, Dash here!

From clothes to hair, the obsession just keeps growing…

Continuing on in my boho chic mini series, I thought to myself, well what’s the third most important thing you need to successfully make a trend work for you, after clothes and accessories of course, and the first thing that came to mind was a lovely hairstyle.

A good hairstyle can really have a great effect on your overall outfit and especially when it comes to boho some of the typical hairstyles for the look are just gorgeous.

Be prepared to see lots of braids and beachy waves, as we go through some key styles for this bohemian trend.

1. A cute braided up-do.

image

I think that this is just a really lovely, messy look for the summer.

Start by making a hairband braid around the front of the hair. Then take the rest of the hair and pull it into a bobbin, as if you’re going to make it into a low ponytail, then stop half way through, leaving it in a loop. Once you’ve gotten this fair the rest is really up to you, roll the loop between your hands to give it a messier look and more texture and pull out some baby hairs around at the front to soften the style and shape the face and that’s all there really is to it. An easy but gorgeous look.

2. Beachy waves tied in with a tiny braid to the back.

back.image

There are lots of different ways that people go about getting that beach waves look but my favourite way is to wash you’re hair, while it’s damps run some mousse through it and scrunch your hair up, then grab you’re hair dryer and diffuser (this is the strange wide spike-y attachable head that come with most hair dryers.) it should look a bit like this one here.

image

You just dry your hair like normal, using this and you’ll end up with some stunning beachy waves.

The all you have to do to complete the look is take hair from the front of your head, on both sides and braid until they reach each other at the back, here you can choose to just tie them with a bobbin or plait the two pieces into one braid and tie it when you get to the end.

(Personally I think the second way looks nicer.)

3. Scattered braids.

image

This is by fair the simplest look, I’ve come across but it can be very effective.
All that you’ve really got to do is take some tiny pieces of hair and braid them. Try and spread them out so that they’re not all in the same place. If you’ve got really straight hair and want a bit more of a shape then you can always take some mousse and scrunch it through your hair.

That’s really simple right?

4. A twisted fishtail braid.

image

Take some hair from the front of your head, on both sides and twist both of them around until they meet at the back of your head from hear just braid them into a fishtail braid, which if you don’t know how to do the link is here.
http://youtube/jRndlvdw5a0

It’s really simple to do though as it’s pretty much an inside out braid. You take two pieces of hair instead of the usual three, and you have one piece of hair in each hand. Then you separate one of the pieces into two, a big and a small, after this you take the smaller piece and bring it over to the other hand and then you do the same on that side and back and forth until you’ve finished.

Wow, that’s a little bit confusing to read… like I said the link is up there.

5. A hairband braid.

image

These are great for the summer as they keep your hair away from you face but still look gorgeous.

Start on one side at the front of your hair line and braid, dropping and picking up strands of hair until you reach the opposite side of your head and just tie or clip behind the ear.

Well, that’s all for now.

Hopefully I’ll have inspired you hair wise.

Talk soon,

Dash x

17 comments

  1. OrganicIsBeautiful · April 28

    Love it!

    Like

  2. Mimi14Senpai · April 8, 2016

    These are all super cute & pretty! πŸ˜€ I would LOVE to learn how to do the twisted fishtail braid, I think that would look pretty on me. πŸ™‚
    Awesome blog, by the way~! πŸ˜€ πŸ™‚ πŸ˜‰ ❀

    Liked by 2 people

    • dashoffashiongirl · April 8, 2016

      Aren’t they just! The twisted fishtail is actually really easy and there are youtube videos EVERYWHERE on it, I’m sure if you want you could be doing it like a pro in no time at all! X I’m sure it would look absolutely gorgeous on you, thanks so much for the compliment, for reading my blog for your comment, I love and appreciate them lots

      Like

  3. Mimi14Senpai · April 8, 2016

    Reblogged this on ThreeCreativeGirls and commented:
    This is SUPER cute & pretty!! πŸ˜€ πŸ™‚ πŸ˜‰ ❀ ❀ ❀ ❀ ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Nadine · April 6, 2016

    I love these styles! Plaits and waves are so timeless. πŸ™‚ xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • dashoffashiongirl · April 6, 2016

      Same! Aren’t they, there’s never a bad time for some wavey hair or some pretty braids and the beachy boho look that is going to be huge, especially as we come into the summer, works with them perfectly. The braids have this intricate but messy feel about them which I just can’t get enough of!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Nadine · April 7, 2016

        I also can’t get enough of it! I love pairing that undone type of look with bold lips. It definitely is a lovely look for summer. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

        • dashoffashiongirl · April 8, 2016

          I feel so the same way, I love a bold lip, especially when it gives a pop of colour to a look. β™₯ got to love cute spring/summer styles

          Liked by 1 person

  5. Disaster Davis · April 5, 2016

    Love this post, the twisted fishtail is my favourite. I’m really enjoying your blog from what I have seen so far, keep up the good work! πŸ™‚ xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • dashoffashiongirl · April 6, 2016

      Awwww β™₯ thank you, you’re too lovely! Really? Me too It’s one I wear all the time. I’m glad you’re enjoying your peek at my little place for everything fashion and beauty, will do!

      Like

  6. stargirl150 · April 2, 2016

    Georgeous hairstyles I definetly have to try these.. I have naturally curly hair, any advice on how to do these hairstyles with hair like mine? Thanks xo

    Liked by 1 person

  7. gettingthroughanxiety · April 1, 2016

    Very cool. I’m not sure I’d say they’re “simple”, but they’re very cool!

    Liked by 1 person

    • dashoffashiongirl · April 1, 2016

      Awh x thanks hmm, maybe not, I don’t know.
      I just know that I find them easy. Glad you enjoyed the post though!

      Like

Leave a Reply

