Knee socks

Hey! Dash here,

So, I hope you all had a lovely  Easter, where ever you are in the world.

A movie I’ve been watching a lot lately and have to say is one of my favourites has to be Clueless. Cher, the main character is definitely a style icon of mine and the movie, if I were writing a fashion bible would so be a major chapter in it.

Cher’s style is pretty hard to over look, with her gorgeous mini skirts and frilly shirts but one major thing that makes up a ton of her outfits is her knee-high socks.

img_20160329_122838.jpg

With the inspiration of her lovely outfits, I began wear these socks with everything almost religiously, along with watching the movie.

Though, knee-highs can sometimes be tricky to pull off, pardon the pun… When you get them right they can just look so good and with that fresh spring chill in the air, now is a perfect time for them!

For inspiration, if you want to get in on this obsession of mine here are just a few ways that you can style the lovely stockings…

1.

img_20160329_131728.jpg

 

Fitted jumpers over a cute pleated skirt with knee socks, to me is a really simple but well put together and neat look an you can do pretty much anything you want it.

 

2. img_20160329_131831.jpg

 

Why not try out a common spring must with a bit of a twist?

Some bright and girly floral prints teamed with dark black socks makes for some nice contrast and off sets the typical girly, spring look that the dress might usually create. It’s also a great outfit for a festival, mixing up cute spring prints and long socks that would fit perfectly into a pair of wellies.

 

3. img_20160329_131754.jpg

 

Oh, yes this next one is definitely a favourite of mine! I think the casual chic of an oversized jumper acting as a dress and some fitted knee-high socks that’s just pefect and pretty. It’s got just the right balance of baggy and tight that just seems to work and with the chilly early spring weather we’ve got going at the moment it’s a must for staying cozy and cute.

4. img_20160329_122906.jpg

This look. Well, what can you really say about it, other than the fact that it works so perfectly. I really like the break in material between the skirt and socks and the style is just so girly, which I love.

You can put these on with a baggy t-shirt, a sweat shirt or jumper, anything really and it’ll work just right. It’s an easy outfit to style and you can wear nearly anything with it. Simple, quick and cute.

5. img_20160329_122919.jpg

These lovely socks can add a real splash of colour to any outfit, which is perfect when coming into a season all about colours.

6. img_20160329_122805.jpg

Little ankle boots are such a spring shoe. You can go from wearing them with something laid back and casual to something completely the opposite, like a fancy little party dress.

7. img_20160329_131744.jpg

Boho, boho, boho…

There’s a lot to be said about bohemian chic and I’ve talked quite a lot about it in my latest mini series which I’ll link to here, the boho look part one and the boho look part two – Accessories if you haven’t already seen it.

Boho is a look that is going to take its place front and center and in the spotlight for the coming warming months. So this last look with its cool shades, floppy black sun hat and flow-y shirt dress are just the things to pair with your knee-highs to keep you bang on trend!

Well, I hope I’ve inspired you sock wise, or fashion wise in general!

If so, why not come back tomorrow for some more fashion chats, guides and advice?

Talk soon,

Dash xx

12 comments

  1. Pingback: My 2016 Spring staples | Dash of fashion girl
  2. Mimi14Senpai · April 8, 2016

    I tend to wear my knee socks with this one pretty dress of mine, RARELY with skirts & shorts (I don’t really wear skirts & shorts a lot), and my personal favorites… To sleep with a long, oversized sweater + sleep shorts & with capris + oversized hoodies.

    Liked by 2 people

    • dashoffashiongirl · April 8, 2016

      Sounds lovely! Ohhhh I absolutely adore wearing them with long t-shirts, they just look really cute xx

      Thanks for the comment!

      Like

  3. Mimi14Senpai · April 8, 2016

    Reblogged this on ThreeCreativeGirls and commented:
    This style is TOTALLY awesome & cute!
    My little sister & I both have an extensive collection of knee socks! We LOVE to wear them! 😀
    Come check out this awesome blog, by the way! 😀 🙂 😉 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mimi14Senpai · April 8, 2016

    My little sister and I both have an extensive collection of knee socks, and we LOVE to wear them! 😀
    😀 🙂 😉 ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    • dashoffashiongirl · April 8, 2016

      Ohhh, I’m so jealous of you both! They just go with everything and anything, and they look super cute

      Like

  5. stargirl150 · March 31, 2016

    Love knee high socks also!! They go with so much and are so cute!! I thought I was the only one who was obsessed lol 😂 Btw also love the movie Clueless! Cher’s got great style, as well as her friend Ty

    Liked by 1 person

  6. evamlewis · March 30, 2016

    Knee high socks are my absolute favourite. Love this post 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • dashoffashiongirl · March 30, 2016

      ^.^ I’m glad somebody shares in my obsession, haha 😂 Thanks for reading xox

      Like

Leave a Reply

