Nourish those nails!

Hey, Dash here!

I love my nail varnish and everything that comes with painting my nails but I’m in no way a nail guru. I’m actually pretty bad at it! But here’s some little tips and tricks that I like to keep in mind while painting.

1. Base coats are a MUST.

Base coat is basically like a clear nail varnish that you paint onto your nails before you use your nail Polish.

This is really important, especially when it comes to painting with darker colours. Painting a dark colour directly onto your nails can stain the nail beds and leave your nail discoloured or looking yellow, and no one wants that! The base coat forms a barrier like defence between the nail and the colour.

Base coat is also great for making your nail a smoother surface for painting onto.

Painting with base coat can also extend your manicure life!

Base coat can be bought in any beauty or makeup shop really, I buy mine in Penneys. (Primark.) It’s also really cheap, so why not pick it up.

image

2. Less is usually more!

If you’re thinking of paintings details or designs onto your nails, remember the less you do the better it’ll look. Think about it this way, your nails are your canvas and that’s quiet a small surface to paint on! Sometimes, I just want to paint them a couple of different colours, if you’re the same, try reign in that creativity for a bit and pick one, two maybe three colours at the most to paint on one nail. This stops things from getting too messy and turning out a complete and utter flop!

3. Think before you do, this is similar to the last tip.

Every now and then I pick a couple of colours and dive right into painting.  Sometimes it works out great… and sometimes … well… it comes out more than a little all over the place.

Think things out before you start to paint them, they come out much better in the end!

4. Don’t pick!

I’ve got an awful, awful habit if picking at the nail varnish on my nails. This is actually so bad for the nail, because when you pull off the varnish, especially if you don’t have a base coat, you end up pealing parts of a very thin layer of nail off. How horrible does that sound!

5. Bumps and ridges.

Have you got little ridges or bumps on your nails? Many people say this is caused by a bad diet, I’m not quite sure but I do know that eating a balanced diet can help it. If you’ve got little vertical ridges or bumps on your nails, it can make painting then difficult. If you have this why not pick up some ridge fill? It’s exactly like base coat but it will actually fill in the ridges.

6. Keep it neat and tidy!

If you are going to paint your nails lay you hand out on a flat surface covered with paper or kitchen towel. This will make painting easier and keep your surface from getting stained or ruined.

image

Dash x

10 comments

  1. Ashi · January 11, 2016

    Lovely post! Hope you can check out my blog too – http://www.jhallidiva.WordPress.com 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. edwinamarie · January 4, 2016

    I wish I could maintain my nails 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    • dashoffashiongirl · January 4, 2016

      Awe, I’m sure you’ll get there! I’m here if you need a hand! Haha get it

      Like

  3. StyledWithJoy · January 4, 2016

    Totally agree with these tips. Especially the base coat! People overlook it. But I love doing my nails too so we have to take care of our nails even more.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. glitterglosglo · January 4, 2016

    Try a top coat too Hun, it will stop you picking at it. Great post x

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

