A Classic look made in makeup heaven

Hey, Dash here!

Now, if there’s a match made in makeup heaven it HAS to be winged liquid liner and some gorgeous red lips.

They just look lovely together and give that beautiful timeless look to whatever you wear. Especially if you’re stuck for a makeup look, try this one out. Whether your outfit happends to be a turtle neck and jeans, dungarees and a jumper or an elegant ball gown you’d be surprised just how flexible the look is.

There’s just one sneaky little thing to make sure of, what shade of red are you wearing!

Yes, it can be a tricky thing but the sad truth is that not everyone can pull off straight up red lippy.

I know because I can’t. There’s just something about it that looks wrong on me.

But never fear because there’s lots of way around it that still let you pull off the classic look perfectly.

Darker skinned, tanned and olive skinned girls can pull offer classic blood red colour. (Lucky.) There’s not too much you can’t wear to be honest. Especially for anyone with an olive coloured complexion. Look out for undertones of yellow and orange.

Paler or fair haired girls like me (high five!, go us!) Try go for a red with blue undertones, it’ll suit you way better!, I promise. ( pink undertones look really good on you too!)

If you’re in search of a lipstick that’s just the right shade for you, I’d suggest checking out Rimmel range of red and off red lipsticks. You’ll be sure to find one that suit you there!

When it comes to liquid liner and doing wings, it’s a bit of a hit or miss for me. Like I’m sure I’ve said before, I’m not a makeup artist, so things can get a little messy sometimes. (I’m that girl who ends up with eyeliner covering her nose and cheeks.)

What I’ll usually do is draw a thin line with liquid liner across my eyelid starting nearly in the middle but a little bit closer to the nose. Then I gently brush across until I get to the very end of the eye lid (near the ear.) and from here I do a slanted line. (Slanted towards the ear.) Then I go back over what I’ve done going heavier on the part if the line that connects the wing to the rest of the liner, making it thicker. It usually works out quite well.

When it comes to eyeliner the product I adore using is from L’Oréal. It’s called Super liner, So couture. It’s liquid liner but it’s more like a felt tip marker, it’s really good and also waterproof,
(I literally just saw that written on the back of the pen now, haha you learn something new everyday I suppose!)

image

What am I doing with my face?… It’s just too early in the morning for a good photo…

image

So with all this being said why not go out and rock those red lips and winged liner! Because even though red wasn’t too in this Christmas season I’ve a feeling it’ll make a comeback this year.

Happy new year everyone! Wow it’s 2016 how crazy is that!  :0

Talk soon!

Dash x

2 comments

  1. septembersrose · January 1, 2016

    Hey Dash! I’m a closet girly girl (shh, don’t tell anyone) so I’m looking forward to discovering the fashion world you’ve created here 🙂 and happy New year!

    Liked by 1 person

    • dashoffashiongirl · January 1, 2016

      Haha, your secrets very safe with me! I’ll keep it under lock and key. 😁 Thanks so much, hope you like my little blog haha. Have a wonderful 2016 xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

